Sunday, June 20, 2010

Day of Nothing

“Day” is a noun that has the following meaning:

1 : the period of rotation of a planet (as earth) or a moon on its axis

“Nothing” is a pronoun with the following meaning:

1 : not any thing : no thing

This phrase that I have concocted at first appears to be a link to Buddhism or a reference to any meditation or meditative state which would take place for a 24 hour period of time. Perhaps if we lived in another country it would mean smoking vast amounts of weed and just starring off into space from sun up to sunset. But the true meaning of a “day of nothing” as I see it is a reflection of time that has no burdens of the negative parts of life.

A day is composed of 24 hours made of 60 minutes made of 60 seconds and so on. Early in life I discovered that life is a construct of control in which those that seek to control things around them, including people, do so by forcing those around them to stick to their schedule and do things the way they want them done. They, them, the man… all references to those distributing the orders of control like the government, parents, teachers, etc... Sadly, years after breaking away from there control, we are still adhering to life in a manner that would please them. Wake up, brush teeth, make bed, eat breakfast, go to work, eat lunch, work some more, cup of coffee, come home, clean house, make dinner, eat dinner, watch TV, brush teeth, go to bed. You know – the routine. Most of it makes sense but in many instances we are slaves to the things that we have to do when in reality, we don’t really have to make the bed or wake up at a decent hour.

So my “day of nothing” is really a way of describing a day of only doing what we WANT to do. No one ever WANTS to go grocery shopping, it’s just a necessity. So hopefully we have filled all of our necessities and are ready to just do what ever it is that we want to do. Fully understood that the only way to pull this off is by creating a schedule of things we want to do which is a clear break from the rules of no rules. None the less:

Wake up when we wake up. Obviously one of us must walk Kilo but return straight to bed. Piles are encouraged.

Breakfast – anything we want to eat! I’m in for some sausage, toast, eggs, OJ and maybe some mimosa! My tummy likes to be fed so I shall feed it. :o)

World Cup – enjoying a good sit while foreign teams battle it out – nice.

Motorcycle ride??? Safety first but let’s go as far north as Marathon (in which case food at Key’s Fisheries would be awesome. On the return trip we can stop at a tiki hut or two. Heck, we can even play mini golf! Notice – it might be too hot for that though… Game time decision. ;o) We could also do No-Name Pub, check out the blue hole? I don’t want to do too much on this trip, just get on the open road see some stuff and come back.

Once home we should be thinking about that pool. It’d be awesome if we were fully prepared with mixed drinks, coronas on ice, etc. It’ll be important to have some shade if we want to stay out for a long time. Notice, we could go out on the later side…

If we eat out for lunch than ordering pizza at night would be awesome. I plan on eating way more than I should and falling asleep on the couch. Ending the day in a pile sounds like the best possible ending to this day of nothing!

I understand this is my version and you might have other things in mind. You are free to differ from the schedule as long as it doesn’t interfere with my need to do nothing. ;o) I’m a nut.

1 comment:

  1. The "day of nothing" went pretty well yesterday. We ended up notching another on the bucket list, watch a TV Series season of shows in one day. "Lost Season 5" which has seventeen 45 minute episodes is what we chose. It took 26 hours but we'll take it. We used 5-hour energy drinks to stay awake. Crashed for a few hours (slept till' noon to accommodate the day of nothing)and watched lost for another 12 hours.

    ReplyDelete